Blogging about ETL and data integration

Just a quick note to introduce myself.  I am an independent consultant from the greater Chicago.  I do mostly design and development work around data integration – that’s the processes that load a data warehouse or move data between databases and applications.  I have been in this space for over 15 years, and used lots of technologies: good old scripts (Perl, Python…) and SQL programs (PL/SQL, Transact-SQL…), super expensive ETL tools, and now I am starting to work with open source products.  My clients range from large corporations and government, all the way down to a couple SMBs who completely outsource their integration problems to me (yeah, SMBs have integration problems, too).

I will be blogging mostly about the technologies I use, how they compare to one another, and some best practices I have discovered in the data integration space.

Leave a Reply

